„A life-changing experience”
International students at Pázmány: Maikey Zaki (Iraq)

maikeyzaki_1.jpg

Maikey Zaki is from Ankawa, Iraq. She is a software engineer, in love with music; she has studied Computer Science Engineering Msc at PPCU Faculty of Information Technology and Bionics, thanks for the Scholarship of Christian Young People. It was a life-changing experience for her studying in Hungary, she became more independent. Wherever she goes in the world, she will always remember this experience. Her biggest dream is to get admission for the PhD, and to do researches and studies to serve humanity.

There are several universities in Hungary. Why did you choose to come to Hungary and to Pázmány?

I was working at university as a lecturer assistant; helping other students and assisting teachers, and my dream was to complete my MSc. I choose PPCU FITB because as I heard from my former lecturers, Pazmany is an excellent university, and there was also a connection with College of Engineering Salahaddin University, as I was a lecturer there too. Besides, my scholarship was from church and very trustworthy. And my sister had been here first with Focolare, and she told me that Hungary is terrific.

What were your expectations? How did you like Pázmány Péter Catholic University? Have your expectations been fulfilled?

I was expecting that I won't be able to complete my MSc, and my thesis work which I was enthusiastic about, it seemed very hard for me to accomplish. But as I have met my supervisor Associate Professor Lukács, Gergely István PhD at PPCU FITB, he has taught me data mining, he was genius and accommodating as we worked together. Now I am in the hope that in the future studies, I can complete my PhD with him too. The faculty prepared tortured research 1 and 2, which were related to the thesis work, and this was very helpful, to start with one thesis work subject and complete it until the end.

I liked PPCU FITB's education system. The schedule of subjects was through Neptun system, and the lectures were available ahead from the wiki site as well as we were given an email from the university.

Did you enjoy studying here? What was the best thing about PPCU?

I enjoyed studying at PPCU FITB very much, The lecturers, the international office, they prepared everything we needed. Although I was from a foreign country, I have never felt alone. The mentoring system was great, and everyone at the university was very supportive and helpful; we could ask our questions anytime, we also had, additional classes by our lecturers at PPCU FITB to strengthen our background. The lecturers prepared extra time for us. I have learnt to relate our subjects to solve real-life problems, and that many topics which were, in theory, are related to the practical life, for example the integration in mathematics used to calculate aeroplane pressure, and many other things. I am still in contact with my mentors and most of my lecturers at PPCU FITB. The best thing about PPCU FITB was that we got every time an email from the faculty about each event, whether it was a seminar, a lecturer coming from abroad, and hiking events; these were the best.

maikeyzaki.jpgCan you mention a challenge you have faced at PPCU?

There were too many challenges I have faced at the beginning, like feeling like an outsider, and overcoming the language barrier was looking so difficult to me, and it took me some time for getting used to currency difference. As being far from my support network, I tried to cope with cultural differences, and I have wanted to be more involved with the activities that the students were preparing at each occasion.

What are the biggest differences you see between the university experience here and in your home country?

There are very much differences between PPCU FITB and the university, which I got the BSc back home. The education system was much more advanced; starting from the laboratories equipment, the materials, the lecturers availability at any time, the online materials, and the internet were available all the time for all of us, and the mentoring system was great, also the security. I was able to stay more time working on my thesis and studying other subjects at the library, which was a tranquil and beautiful place. The public transportation availability, and many times I had used the bicycle to go back and forth to the faculty, there was a bicycle garage as well, and the lecturer at PPCU FITB helped me to find an internship.

In my country back home at my time, the internet was not available for students at the faculty, the university was a bit far from my city. I was afraid to stay alone at the university to work. Especially, when I knew, once a complete bus full of students was exploded by ISIS in the neighbouring cities, and many young Christian students have died in that terrorist act. Though my city was a bit far away from the place where the horrible accident was, I wasn't able not to think about this horrific accident and all these innocent lives, because of the lack of security.

What has your experience here helped you to gain and learn?

A life-changing experience from studying in Hungary, I liked exploring new places, discovering the Hungarian cultures, and making Hungarian friends. I had the desire to learn learn learn! More and more, to solve any problem, learning new courses and topics and alternative methods of teaching as each country have a different system, and I was continuously learning and adapting. I was encouraged to live and travel alone, to be independent, also improving my personal development, and to take care of my healthy lifestyle. In the end, to have to win my most distant dreams and goals.

maikeyzaki3.jpgWhat have you learnt about yourself during the time you spent at PPCU?

I have learnt about my abilities, preferences and limitation. There are things I learnt during the studies in Hungary, stayed with me and shaped the woman I am today. When I have travelled to Hungary, I was an outsider, I was different, speaking a foreign language, but it does not mean that I stood out like a stick or like a sore thumb. I tried to fit in like the woman of the Liberty Statue or the Freedom Statue on the Gellért Hill.

During the weekends trip around Hungary, my friends and I wanted to know when the train will leave to Tihany, and the men at the train station, there was no luck in English, I attempted in a very broken Hungarian and hand gesture to ask about train time. Then the men were receptive and helped us.

When for the first time with my friends we used a bus company to travel, we decided to have a trip from Hungary to Prague. During the holiday break, as a first trip, we have arrived pretty late to the hotel. We were not informed from the hotel about the time of closing, so we spent the whole night at McDoland's, it was very tiring night. However, we did not give up to enjoy the next days.

I was not afraid to try something new, not only food but to have new friends, experiences, hobbies, activities. While I never knew that the traditional Hungarian food is so much looking like my hometown traditional food. All these lessons, no matter where I will go in the world, I will always remember my experience. I know I can achieve the goals and dreams in front of me, and I am not different from the other students who do their higher education.

What would be your advice to your first year self?

My advice for my first-year self will be that time flies so fast, and it feels as if it were just yesterday. There will be the restless and challenging days of studying, do not be stressed, and believe in yourself, there are lovely and encouraging people and friends around, and you are not alone.

What has Scholarship For Young Christian People helped you to achieve?

Thanks to the SCYP Hungary Helps program supports the young! They helped me to achieve my dreams, they were always there preparing good plans, that made things easier on the shoulder. We would not have been able to accomplish this step, the encouragement and support for us were very generous.

How did you enjoy Hungary? What did you like the most? What was the most suprising thing?

I enjoyed Hungary a lot, most of the Hungarian people were very lovely, helpful, and accommodating as I knew and met them. I liked riding the bicycle in the city centre, crossing all the beautiful bridges near the river. The beautiful nature of Hungary is very inspiring. The winter and humidity there it can not get any sweltering, the weather is fantastic. The Castle, the Mathias Church, the Fisherman's Bastion and the Freedom Statue hill are all fantastic.

The most surprising thing was seeing the university having a beautiful choir. I always enjoyed listening to them because as I was in choir singing and playing the guitar as well back home. And I was also inspired to find a community in the church which I was following every week.

maikeyzaki4.jpgWhat were your first impressions here?

My first impression was that the Hungarian people were not friendly, but then as I started the journey and knew some colleagues, most of them were very friendly and helpful. I also meet some Hungarian families through the church, and they invited me for each Christmas and Easter to their dinner family.

I remember once a Hungarian guy I met told me that; Hungarian were suffered a lot in the Soviet era, so they do not trust foreign people easily in the first sight, but once they get to know you, they will be your best friends!

Did you miss anything from your home country, from your hometown?

I felt nostalgic, missed my parents and my sister the most, that feeling; to be surrounded by all of our family members; because we have a huge family. However, the good news is that we are in a time that keeping up with each other is easier than ever; we were calling every day through social media application.

Have you learned any Hungarian words yet?

I have learnt some Hungarian language, for two-semester. Still, I follow some Hungarian webpage called Daily Magyar, which I receive a new word each day, and as following up the Hungarian community in St. Teresa church. And currently, I try to read what other Hungarian write and posts on social media each day.

What is a goal of yours?

One of the most distant dreams that I have is to get admission for the PhD and to do researches and studies to serve humanity.

What did you bring home from Hungary? What would be your message to students in your home country thinking about studying abroad?

I brought a career path, this experience opened the possibility to return working at the College of Engineering, and helped me to connect as a future academic teacher, and gave me the Msc CSE goal to strive toward. Because of studying abroad, I gained new international networks; and I am on the road to equalize the Msc certificate in Iraq and become a university teaching staff. As studying abroad was the first thing to help to reach what I was genuinely passionate about and what I wanted from a job after graduation. And I brought home a new language "Hungarian".

The message I would like to transfer to the students in my home; if you want to accomplish a dream, to complete your studies abroad in Hungary, never give up, work on your dreams, and never give up. Don't be afraid, and God will provide. Travelling is good to make good experiences, to learn new courses and subjects, and to be educated more with other cultures and to make friends from different religions and regions. Besides the dire situation that my country back home was in, and the mentality that girls can not travel alone to get their education; most of my family members were against travelling abroad for studies, but my father was always encouraging me. I still had left with some hope; I did not give up on my future studies. And now my family are very proud of me; I could accomplish this step. Knowing that I could feel at home in Hungary, also gave me the confidence to work at my university back home.

Thank you!
Nagyon szépen köszönjük!

_____________________________________________

 

Maikey Zaki az iraki Ankawaból érkezett. Zeneimádó szoftvermérnök, mérnökinformatikus mesterképzésen vett részt a Pázmány Információs Technológiai és Bionikai Karán a Keresztény Fiataloknak szóló ösztöndíjprogramnak köszönhetően. Sorsfordító tapasztalat volt, hogy Magyarországon tanulhatott, sokkal önállóbbá vált. Bárhova is megy majd a világon, mindig emlékezni fog erre a tapasztalatra. Legnagyobb álma, hogy felvételt nyerjen doktorképzésre, valamint kutatásokat és tanulmányokat végezzen az emberiség szolgálatában.

Számos egyetem van Magyarországon, miért döntött úgy, hogy ide jön, miért a Pázmányt választotta?

Az egyetemen tanársegédként dolgoztam, más hallgatókat és oktatókat segítettem, és az volt az álmom, hogy elvégezzek egy mesterképzést. Azért választottam a Pázmány ITK-t, mert azt hallottam a korábbi oktatóimtól a Salahaddin Egyetem Mérnöki Karán, ahol én is oktató voltam, hogy a Pázmány kiváló egyetem. Ezen kívül az ösztöndíjam egyház támogatású és nagyon megbízható volt. A nővérem pedig járt itt a Fokoláré mozgalommal és azt mondta, hogy Magyarország fantasztikus.

Mik voltak az elvárásai? Hogy tetszett a Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetem? Teljesültek az elvárásai?

Arra számítottam, hogy nem tudom majd befejezni a mesterképzést és a diplomamunkám, amiért nagyon lelkesedtem, nehezen teljesíthetőnek tűnt. De megismerkedtem a témavezetőmmel, Dr. Lukács Gergely István egyetemi docenssel, aki megtanított adatot bányászni, zseniális és rugalmas volt, amikor együtt dolgoztunk. Reménykedem, hogy a későbbi tanulmányaim során a segítségével szerezhetem meg a doktori fokozatot. A kar előkészítette az értekezés munkájához kapcsolódó első és második kutatást, ami nagyon hasznos volt, hogy egy szakdolgozati témából kiindulva azt is fejezzem be.

Szerettem a Pázmány ITK oktatási rendszerét. A tantárgyak ütemezése Neptunon keresztül történt, és az előadások előre elérhetőek voltak a wiki webhelyről, valamint e-mail-t is kaptunk.

Szeretett itt tanulni? Mi volt a legjobb dolog a Pázmányon?

Nagyon szerettem a Pázmány ITK-n tanulni. Az előadók, a nemzetközi iroda mindent előkészített, amire szükségünk volt. Bár egy idegen országból érkeztem, mégsem éreztem magam sose egyedül. A mentorálási rendszer nagyszerű volt, az egyetemen mindenki nagyon támogató és segítőkész volt, bármikor feltehettük a kérdéseinket, a Pázmány ITK oktatói extra órákat tartottak a hátterünk erősítése érdekében. Az előadók extra időt szántak ránk. Megtanultam összefüggésbe hozni a tantárgyakat a valós problémák megoldása érdekében, és azt, hogy számos téma van, amely elméletileg kapcsolódik a gyakorlati élethez, például a matematika integrációja, amelyet a repülőgép nyomásának kiszámításához használnak, és még sok minden máshoz. Továbbra is kapcsolatban vagyok a mentoraimmal és a pázmányos oktatóim többségével. A Pázmány ITK-ban az volt a legjobb dolog, hogy minden alkalommal kaptunk e-mailt-t az oktatóktól minden eseményről, legyen szó szemináriumról, külföldről érkező előadóról vagy kirándulásról, ezek voltak a legjobbak.

Tudna mondani egy kihívást, amellyel a Pázmányon szembesült?

Több olyan kihívás is volt, amellyel az elején szembesültem. Kívülállónak éreztem magam és a nyelvi akadályok leküzdése olyan nehéznek tűntek számomra, időbe telt, mire megszoktam a valuta különbséget is. Mivel távol voltam a támogatói hálózatomtól, magam próbáltam meg megbirkózni a kulturális különbségekkel, szerettem volna jobban részt venni azokban a tevékenységekben, amelyeket a hallgatók készítettek elő minden alkalommal.

Melyek a legnagyobb különbségek az itteni és az otthoni egyetemi élet között?

Nagyon sok különbség van a Pázmány ITK és az egyetem között, ahol az alapképzést végeztem otthon. Az oktatási rendszer sokkal fejlettebb volt, kezdve a laboratóriumok felszereléseivel, az anyagok, az oktatók bármikori elérhetősége, az online anyagok és az állandó internetelérés, a biztonság, illetve a mentori rendszer nagyszerű volt. Tovább tudtam maradni a könyvtárban a diplomamunkám kidolgozásához és más tantárgyakra történő tanulás miatt, ami egy nyugodt és gyönyörű hely volt. A tömegközlekedés elérhetősége nagyon jó, sokszor biciklivel jártam az egyetemre, volt kerékpáros garázs is és a Pázmány ITK oktatója segített szakmai gyakorlati helyet találni.

Otthon, az én hazámban az alapképzésem során az internet nem volt elérhető a kar hallgatói számára, az egyetem kissé távol volt a várostól. Féltem egyedül maradni az egyetemen dolgozni. Különösen amikor tudtam, hogy egyszer az ISIS egy hallgatókkal teli buszt robbantott fel a szomszédos városban és sok fiatal keresztény diák halt meg ebben a terrorcselekményben. Noha a városom kicsit messzebb volt attól a helytől, ahol a szörnyű baleset történt, a biztonságérzet hiánya miatt nem tudtam nem gondolni erre a szörnyű balesetre és az ártatlan életekre.

Az itteni tapasztalata mit tanított Önnek?

Sorsfordító tapasztalat volt, hogy Magyarországon tanulhattam, szerettem új helyeket felfedezni, a magyar kultúrát és magyar barátokat szerezni. Vágytam tanulni, tanulni, tanulni. Többet és többet, bármilyen problémát megoldani, új kurzusokat és témákat tanulni, alternatív tanítási módszereket elsajátítani, mivel minden országnak más a rendszere, folyamatosan tanultam és alkalmazkodtam. Biztatást kaptam ahhoz, hogy éljek és utazzak egyedül, váljak önállóvá, tökéletesítsem személyes fejlődésemet, és az egészséges életmódra is figyeljek oda. Végül pedig, hogy elérjem a legtávolabbi álmaimat és céljaimat.

Mit tanult önmagáról a Pázmányon töltött idő alatt?

Megismertem a képességeimet, a preferenciáimat és a korlátaimat. Vannak dolgok, amelyeket a magyarországi tanulmányaim során tanultam, maradtak velem és formálták azt a nőt, aki ma vagyok. Amikor Magyarországra érkeztem, kívülálló voltam, más voltam, idegen nyelvet beszéltem, de ez nem azt jelenti, hogy kilógtam a sorból. Megpróbáltam beilleszkedni, mint a Szabadság szobor nőalakja a Gellérthegyen.

Egy hétvégi magyarországi kirándulás során a barátaimmal szerettük volna megtudni, hogy mikor indul a vonat Tihanyba, és a vasútállomáson lévő férfiak nem tudtak angolul, megpróbáltam nagyon tört magyarul és kézmozdulattal megkérdezni a vonat idejét. Aztán a férfiak fogékonyak voltak és segítettek nekünk.

A barátaimmal Magyarországról először Prágába utaztunk egy busztársasággal. Az ünnepek alatti első utazás lévén elég későn érkeztünk meg a szállodába, ahonnan nem kaptunk tájékoztatást a zárás idejéről, ezért az egész éjszakát a McDonald’s-ban töltöttük, nagyon fárasztó éjszaka volt. De nem adtuk fel, hogy a következő napokat élvezzük.

Nem féltem kipróbálni új dolgokat, nemcsak ételt, hanem új barátokat, tapasztalatokat, hobbikat és elfoglaltságokat is. Bár soha nem gondoltam, hogy a hagyományos magyar étel mennyire hasonlít a szülővárosom hagyományos ételeihez. Mindezekre a leckékre, bárhova is megyek a világon, mindig emlékezni fogok erre a tapasztalatra. Tudom, hogy elérhetem az előttem álló célokat és álmokat, és nem vagyok más a többi felsőoktatásban részt vevő hallgatótól.

Mi lenne a tanácsa az elsőéves önmagának?

Az elsőéves önmagamnak szóló tanács az lenne, hogy az idő olyan gyorsan repül és olyan érzés, mintha csak tegnap lett volna. Lesznek majd a tanulás során nyugtalan és kihívásokkal teli napok, ne stresszelj és bízz önmagadban, kedves, bátorító emberek és barátok vannak körülötted, nem vagy egyedül.

Mit segített elérni a Keresztény Fiataloknak szóló ösztöndíjprogram?

A Keresztény Fiataloknak szóló ösztöndíjprogramon keresztül fiatalokat támogatnak. Segítettek elérni az álmaimat, mindig jó terveket készítettek, amik megkönnyítették a dolgokat. Nem tudtuk volna megtenni ezt a lépést, a bátorítás és a támogatás nagyon nagylelkű volt.

Hogy tetszett Magyarország? Mit szeretett a legjobban? Mi volt a legmeglepőbb?

Nagyon élveztem Magyarországot, a magyar emberek többsége nagyon kedves, segítőkész és előzékeny, ahogy megismertem és találkoztam velük. Szerettem biciklizni a városban, átkelni a folyó összes gyönyörű hídján. Magyarország gyönyörű természete nagyon inspiráló. A tél és a páratartalom nem tud rekkenő lenni, az időjárás fantasztikus. A Vár, a Mátyás-templom, a Halászbástya és a Gellért-hegyi Szabadság-szobor fantasztikus.

A legmeglepőbb az egyetem gyönyörű kórusa volt. Mindig élvezettel hallgattam őket, otthon én is kórusban énekeltem és gitároztam. Arra is ösztönözve voltam, hogy találjak egy egyházi közösséget, ahova minden héten jártam.

Mi volt az első benyomása itt?

Az első benyomásom az volt, hogy az emberek nem barátságosak, de amikor elkezdtem az utazásomat és megismertem néhány kollégát, többségük nagyon barátságos és segítőkész volt. Néhány magyar családdal is találkoztam a templomon keresztül, és minden Karácsonyra, Húsvétra meghívtak vacsorára a családjukba.

Emlékszem, egyszer egy magyar srác, akivel találkoztam, azt mondta nekem: a szovjet korszakban sokat szenvedtek a magyarok, ezért első látásra nem bíznak könnyen a külföldi emberekben, de ha egyszer megismernek, a legjobb barátaid lesznek!

Hiányzott valami a hazájából, a szülővárosából?

Nosztalgiát éreztem, legjobban a szüleim és a nővérem hiányzott, az az érzés, hogy minden családtagom körbe vegyen, mert nekünk hatalmas családunk van. Jó hír azonban, hogy olyan időszakban élünk, amikor könnyebb lépést tartani egymással, minden nap beszéltünk telefonon, a közösségi média alkalmazáson keresztül.

Sikerült megtanulnia valamilyen magyar szót?

Két féléven keresztül tanultam magyarul. Továbbra is követek néhány magyar weboldalt, a Daily Magyart, ahonnan naponta új szót kapok, és a Szent Teréz Templom magyar közösségét is követem. Jelenleg próbálom elolvasni, amit magyarok írnak és posztolnak minden nap a közösségi médiában.

Milyen céljai vannak?

Az egyik legtávolabbi álmom, hogy felvételt nyerjek doktorképzésre, valamint kutatásokat és tanulmányokat végezzek az emberiség szolgálatában.

Mit vitt haza Magyarországról? Mit üzenne a hazájában élő diákoknak a külföldi tanulmányokról?

Karrier utat hoztam, ez a tapasztalat megnyitotta a lehetőséget, hogy visszatérjek dolgozni a Mérnöki Karra, illetve segített abban, hogy leendő akadémiai tanárként léphessek kapcsolatba velük, a mérnökinformatikus mesterképzés célja az efelé törekvést adta. A külföldi tanulmányoknak miatt új nemzetközi kapcsolathálót szereztem, és azon vagyok, hogy kiváltsam az iraki mesterképzés igazolást és egyetemi oktatóvá váljak. A külföldi tanulmány volt az első, ami segített abban, hogy elérjem azt, amiért valóban lelkesedtem, és amit érettségi után szerettem volna egy munkától. Illetve egy új nyelvet hoztam haza, a magyart.

Azt az üzenetet szeretném átadni az otthoni diákoknak, hogy ha szeretnék megvalósítani az álmukat, szeretnék befejezni a tanulmányaikat külföldön, Magyarországon, soha ne adják fel, dolgozzanak az álmaikon és soha ne adják fel. Ne féljenek, Isten gondoskodni fog róluk. Az utazás jó arra, hogy tapasztalatokat szerezzenek, új kurzusokat és tantárgyakat tanuljanak, más kultúrákkal ismerkedjenek meg, különböző vallású és különböző régiókból származó barátokat szerezzenek. Amellett a súlyos helyzeten, amelyben a hazám volt, és azon mentalitás mellett, hogy a lányok nem utazhattak egyedül tanulmányaik miatt, a legtöbb családtagom is ellenezte, hogy külföldi tanulmányok miatt elutazzak, de apám mindig bátorított. Mégis reménnyel telve jöttem el, nem adtam fel későbbi tanulmányaimat. Most nagyon büszke rám a családom, hogy meg tudtam tenni ezt a lépést. Az a tudat, hogy otthon éreztem magam Magyarországon, egyúttal önbizalmat adott ahhoz, hogy otthon az egyetemen dolgozhassak.

Köszönöm!
Nagyon szépen köszönjük!

Készítette: PPKE Kommunikáció/Kemény Mária
Fotó: Maikey Zaki

Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetem

süti beállítások módosítása