„Helping to improve my personality”
International students at Pázmány: Sandra Hanbo (Syria)

sandrahanbo.jpg

Sandra Hanbo is from Syria, she is a mechatronics engineer, studying Info-Bionics engineering in PPCU FITB. She finds the best thing in the university is the teacher-student relation which is formal and friendly at the same time.

Please, tell us about yourself.

Hello, My name is Sandra Hanbo, I am Syrian, mechatronics engineer, and now I am continuing Master studies at Info-Bionics engineering specialization in Pazmany Peter Catholics Univeristy (Faculty of Information Technology and Bionics). The reason leads me to this university is my bachelor degree project which was about detecting, filtering brain signals in basic way.
After finishing first university degree I looked forward deepening my knowledge at this field, and the answer was at this faculty which exactly improves students at biology and informatics, plus having researches state of the art in Bio-engineering field.
Choosing Hungary was by sudden in fact, I was planning for the field of the study not the country, I also got a call from my friend who told me about Hungary and by surfing in the Internet and looking for informaton about the country. I found out being a beautiful, big and Budapest is a safe city where I can feel comfortable, and that is what happens. In addition to the hospitality of the people (even some of them don’t know English very well, they try to help you as they can when you ask).

What were your expectations?

Firstly about Budapest I expected to be a little city, which it was in the contrary, a huge one. But I think it is a bridge between east and west and that is it, because you can find many different cultures in one place, Asian ,European, American…etc.
About the University, I expected it to be ranked at its field and that it is, but I did not expect this relation between teacher and student where you can send email or ask to meet for consultation and stay for an hour or more to help you get the full information, and that is makes me more comfortable with studying. I could not attend social happenings, because of having a scholarship with low budget, but at the university I have tried to make friends with Hungarians and I have successed with a little, and the epidemic unfortunately plays main role in this also to be harder to communicate with others.

Do you enjoy studying here? What is the best thing about PPCU?

Yes, I like studying here, even though Biology lessons are intermediate for me despite the fact that I am an Engineer, on the other hand, I have been helped and learned more and I am deepening my knowledge in many fields.
The best thing in the university is the teacher-student relation which is formal and friendly at the same time.

Can you mention a challenge you have faced at PPCU?

Getting successed in NeuroBiology course was a real challenge for me, because it is intermediate neuroscience with a lot of information to deal with. Thankfully, I got survived and completed it.

What are the biggest differences you see between the university experience here and in your home country?

There are huge differences between my the university at my home town and here. The biggest difference I found is the way of thinking and studying, here looking for critical thinking and searching hard for the information and that is what makes it remembered more than revising it from a book.

What has your experience here helped you to gain and learn?

I think it helped and is helping to improve my personality in different fields of life and reform my way of thinking.

What have you learnt about yourself during the time you spent at PPCU?

I learned a lot, because this my first time being away from my family and my community, I learned to depend more on myself, being independent and help others, plus I am now trying to change the way of looking at things, looking from other point of view.

What would be your advice to your first year self?

My advice to the old me is to take it easy, don’t be stressful about not achieving a thing if I am working hard of it, because many people will appreciate the work you do.

What has this scholarship helped you to achieve?

I take part in the Stipendium Hungaricum scholarship programme, which helps me to continue my studies here which is a ranked university in this beautiful city and gained to know more good people and new society.

How do you enjoy Hungary? What do you like the most? What was the most suprising thing?

I like to get around Budapest and explore the city, I like the view of the city from height like from Liberty statue, and I like people’s hospitality and Gulyás. The most surprising thing was the city itself, it is old and new at the same time.

What were your first impressions here?

I was confused, because I came late, and I did many things in a recorded time, in addition to attend classes, I completed the paper works, with help from my mentor and the international office at the faculty. That gives me strength of having this good people around you, who answer you whenever you ask.

Do you miss anything from your home country, from your hometown?

Of course, my family, my relatives, prayers, the church I was attending, plus music playing and the sea.

What is a goal of yours?

My goal is to make the world better to live in, help more people to engage in society.

What would be your message to students in your home country thinking about studying abroad?

If someone asks me about studying abroad I would encourage them to do this step and have this opportunity, because they will learn a lot and gain experiences will not get it at homeland.

_______________________________________________

 

Sandra Hanbo Szíriából érkezett, mechatronikai mérnökként végzett és most a Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetem Információs Technológiai és Bionikai Karának info-bionika mérnöki mesterképzésén tanul. Az egyetemen a legjobb dolognak az oktató-hallgató kapcsolatot tartja, amely egyszerre formális és barátságos.

Kérem, röviden mutatkozzon be.

Sandra Hanbo vagyok Szíriából. Mechatronikai mérnök vagyok, jelenleg a Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetem Információs Technológiai és Bionikai Karának info-bionika mérnöki mesterképzésén veszek részt. Az alapképzési diplomám témája, amely az agyi jelek észleléséről és szűréséről szólt, alapján jutottam ehhez az egyetemhez.
Az első egyetemi diploma megszerzése után szeretettem volna elmélyíteni tudásomat ezen a területen és ezt ezen a karon tudom megtenni, ahol a hallgatók fejlődhetnek a biológia és az informatika területén, emellett a legmodernebb kutatásokat végezhetik a biomérnöki területen.
Magyarországot véletlenszerűen választottam, valójában a tanulmányi területem alapján terveztem és nem az országot néztem. Egy barátommal folytatott telefonos beszélgetés során mesélt nekem Magyarországról, valamint az interneten böngészve kerestem rá az országra, amelyből kiderült, hogy gyönyörű, nagy és Budapest biztonságos város, ahol jól érezhetem magam, és ez meg is valósul most. Továbbá az emberek vendégszeretete (még akkor is, ha nem tudnak jól angolul, megpróbálnak segíteni, amikor kéri valaki).

Mik voltak az elvárásai?

Először Budapesttel kapcsolatban arra számítottam, hogy egy kis város lesz, de épp ellenkezőleg, hatalmas. Úgy gondolom, hogy egy híd kelet és nyugat között, és valóban az, mert sokféle kultúra található egy helyen, ázsiai, európai, amerikai, stb.
Az egyetemmel kapcsolatban azt vártam, hogy a szakterületén rangsorolják, és így is van, de nem számítottam erre az oktató és hallgató közötti kapcsolatra, ahol e-mail-t küldhetek vagy megkérhetem, hogy konzultáljunk, ami egy vagy több órán keresztül is tarthat, segítenek minden információval, ami megkönnyíti a tanulást. Az alacsonyabb költségvetésű ösztöndíj miatt nem tudtam részt venni közösségi eseményeken, de az egyetemen megpróbáltam barátkozni magyar diákokkal és egy kicsit sikerrel is jártam. A járvány sajnos ebbe a közbeszól, nehezíti az egymás közti kommunikációt.

Szeret itt tanulni? Mi volt a legjobb dolog a Pázmányon?

Igen, szeretek itt tanulni, a biológia órák haladó szintűek, annak ellenére, hogy mérnök vagyok, másrészt sok segítséget kaptam, sokat tanultam és sikerül számos területen elmélyíteni ismereteimet.
A legjobb dolog az egyetemen a tanár-diák kapcsolat, amely egyszerre formális és barátságos.

Tudna mondani egy kihívást, amellyel a Pázmányon szembesült?

A neurobiológia óra igazi kihívást jelentett számomra, mert ez egy haladó idegtudományi óra rengeteg információval. Szerencsére túlélte és sikeresen befejeztem.

Melyek a legnagyobb különbségek az itteni és az otthoni egyetemi élet között?

Óriási különbségek vannak a szülővárosom és az itteni egyetem között. A legnagyobb különbséget a gondolkodás és a tanulás módja során tapasztaltam, itt kritikus gondolkodást kerestem és kerestem az információkat, ami által jobban megmaradnak, mint egy könyvből történő tanuláskor.

Az itteni tapasztalata mit tanított Önnek?

Úgy gondolom, hogy segített és segít a személyiségem fejlődésében az élet különböző területein, illetve a gondolkodásmódon megreformálásában.

Mit tanult önmagáról a Pázmányon töltött idő alatt?

Rengeteget tanultam, mert most először voltam távol a családomtól és a közösségemtől, megtanultam magamra számítani, függetlennek lenni és segíteni másoknak, ráadásul most igyekszem változtatni a szemléletmódomon, más nézőpontokat keresek.

Mi lenne a tanácsa az elsőéves önmagának?

Akkori önmagamnak az tanácsolnám, hogy nyugi, ne stresszelj azon, hogy nem érsz el semmit, mert ha keményen dolgozol, akkor sokan értékelni fogják az elvégzett munkát.

Mit segített elérni az ösztöndíjprogram?

A Stipendium Hungaricum ösztöndíjprogramban veszek részt, amely segít, hogy itt folytathassam tanulmányaimat, egy rangos egyetemen ebben a gyönyörű városban, illetve jó embereket és új társadalmat ismerhettem meg

Hogy tetszik Magyarország? Mit szeret a legjobban? Mi volt a legmeglepőbb?

Szeretek járkálni Budapesten és felfedezni a várost, szeretem a kilátást magasból, mint például a Szabadság szobortól, illetve szeretem az emberek vendégszeretetét és a gulyást. A legmeglepőbb dolog maga a város volt, egyszerre régi és új.

Mi volt az első benyomása itt?

Zavart voltam, mert későn érkeztem és sok mindent megcsináltam egy bizonyos idő alatt, az órákon való részvétel mellett papírmunkát végeztem a mentorom és a kar nemzetközi irodájának segítségével. Az, hogy jó emberek vesznek körül, akik mindig válaszolnak, amikor csak kérdezel, erőt ad.

Hiányzik valami a hazájából, a szülővárosából?

Természetesen hiányzik a családom, a rokonaim, az imádságok, a templom, ahova jártam, plusz a zene és a tenger.

Milyen céljai vannak?

Célom, hogy jobbá, élhetőbbé tegyem a világot, és segítsek még több embernek részt venni a társadalomban.

Mit üzenne a hazájában élő diákoknak a külföldi tanulmányokról?

Ha valaki megkérdezné tőlem, hogy miért tanuljon külföldön, arra biztatnám, hogy tegye meg ezt a lépést és éljen ezzel a lehetőséggel, mert sokat fognak tanulni és olyan tapasztalatokat fognak megszerezni, amit a szülőföldjükön nem tudnak.

Készítette: PPKE Kommunikáció/Kemény Mária
Fotó: Sandra Hanbo

Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetem

süti beállítások módosítása