„One step forward to achieve my dream”
International students at Pázmány: Awet Haileslassie Gebrehiwot (Ethiopia)

awethaileslassiegebrehiwot.jpg

Awet Haileslassie Gebrehiwot is from Ethiopia. During his Bachelor's studies and his research work, he had exposure to the image processing, robotics, and computer vision fields. He completed the Image Processing and Computer Vision (IPCV) Erasmus Mundus Joint Master’s Degree program at Pázmány University. He did his internship at Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (UAM), Spain, in the Video Processing and Understanding Lab (VPU Lab). After finishing IPCV, he got a researcher position at the Czech Technical University in Prague (Czech Republic),in the Center for Machine Perception, Vision for Robotics and Autonomous Systems research group. Currently, he is working in a self-driving car project in collaboration with Valeo.ai.

Please tell us about yourself.

My name is Awet Haileslassie Gebrehiwot, I was born in Axum, a historic city located in the Tigray region of Ethiopia. I obtained my BSc in Computer Science and Engineering at Mekelle University in July 2016. Since I was among the top students, I got the opportunity to work as Assistant Lecturer at Mekelle University. During my Bachelor's studies and my research work, I had exposure to the image processing, robotics, and computer vision fields, I was so excited to play my part in this cutting-edge technology. Thus, I decided to continue my education and further upgrade my knowledge in Computer Vision. That is why I applied for the Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree (EMJMD) in IPCV.

The admission procedure must have been very competititive. In this program, applicants go through a very serious selection, there are twenty times more applicants from all over the world than the number of places. How did you feel when you found out you had been admitted to the Image Processing and Computer Vision Masters program?

During my interview, I had an interesting conversation with my interviewer. He asked me about my previous experience in the IPCV domain, and I answered all the questions raised. Even though you can’t be sure about the selection output, I was confident that I would be selected. The moment I got the confirmation email “congratulations, you are among the shortlisted students for IPCV” was one of the happiest moments of my life! For me, it was an opportunity to take one step forward to achieve my dream.

Why do you think image processing and computer vision are so current in today’s world?

Image processing and computer vision is an important and essential area in today’s world. Several problems can be solved through computer vision techniques. There are a number of challenges and opportunities which require skills in the field of computer vision to address them.

What can you do with this triple degree, in what fields can it be used? Where did you spend your internship and where did you start to work after graduation?

Getting the triple degree was also having to work triple harder to meet all the requirements for the three areas of the triple degree. I hope this triple degree will enable me to dive into any of the specializations and show my achievement. I did my internship at Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (UAM), Spain in the Video Processing and Understanding Lab (VPU Lab). After I finished IPCV, I got a researcher position at the Czech Technical University in Prague (Czech Republic), in the Center for Machine Perception, Vision for Robotics, and Autonomous Systems research group. Currently, I am working on a self-driving car project in collaboration with Valeo.ai.

What has the IPCV program given to you?

It has given me an opportunity to meet international people, experience multiple cultures and different languages. The international experience broadened my mind.

How did you like Pázmány Péter Catholic University, what was the best thing about it?

I felt at home at Pázmány Péter Catholic University, it is well managed. Its religious and disciplined culture attracts me.

What are your goals for the future?

To contribute to the computer vision research society, and to solve a real-world problem with my expertise.

What would be your message to students who are thinking about applying to the Image Processing and Computer Vision Masters program?

It is an amazing program with lots of room to grow both socially and professionally!

________________________________________

Awet Haileslassie Gebrehiwot Etiópiából érkezett. Alapképzése és kutatómunkája során megismerkedett a robotikával és a számítógépes látással. Ezután végezte el a Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetemen az Image Processing and Computer Vision MSc képzést. Szakmai gyakorlatát a Madridi Autonóm Egyetem (Spanyolország) Videófeldolgozás és -értelmezés Laboratóriumában (VPU Lab) végezte. Az IPCV képzés befejezése után kutatói állást kapott a prágai Cseh Műszaki Egyetem (Csehország) Gépi Észlelés, Robotikai Látás és Autonóm Rendszerek kutatócsoportjában. Jelenleg egy önvezető autó projektjén dolgozik a Valeo.ai-val együttműködve.

Kérem, röviden mutatkozzon be.

A nevem Awet Haileslassie Gebrehiwot. Axumban születtem, Etiópia Tigray régiójának egyik történelmi városában. 2016 júliusában szereztem BSc diplomát a Mekelle Egyetem mérnökinformatikus szakán. Mivel a legjobb hallgatók között voltam, lehetőséget kaptam, hogy a Mekelle Egyetemen tanársegédként dolgozzak. Alapképzésem és kutatómunkám során megismerkedtem a robotikával és a számítógépes látással, és nagyon szerettem volna jobban kivenni a részem ebből az élvonalbeli technológiából. Ezért úgy döntöttem, hogy továbbtanulok és még inkább elmélyítem ismereteimet a számítógépes látás területén. Ezért jelentkeztem az IPCV Erasmus Mundus közös mesterképzésre.

Hatalmas volt a verseny a felvételi során. A jelentkezők nagyon komoly válogatáson mentek keresztül, húszszoros a túljelentkezés a képzésre a világ minden tájáról. Mit érzett, amikor megtudta, hogy bekerült az IPCV programba?

Az interjúm során érdekes beszélgetést folytattam az felvételiztetőmmel, megkérdezett az IPCV területen szerzett korábbi tapasztalataimról, és meg is válaszoltam az összes felvetett kérdést. Annak ellenére, hogy nem lehettem biztos az eredményben, bíztam abban, hogy engem is kiválasztanak. Az a pillanat, amikor megkaptam a megerősítő e-mailt: „Gratulálok, Ön felvételt nyert az IPCV képzésre”, életem egyik legboldogabb pillanata volt! Számomra ez egy lépés volt afelé, hogy megvalósítsam az álmom.

Mit gondol, a képfeldolgozás és gépi látás miért annyira kurrens manapság? 

A képfeldolgozás és a számítógépes látás fontos és elengedhetetlen terület a mai világban. Számítógépes látástechnikával számos probléma megoldható. Számos olyan kihívás és lehetőség van, amelyek megismeréséhez a számítógépes látás területén szerzett készségek szükségesek.

Mihez tud kezdeni ezzel a hármas diplomával? Mely területeken használható? Hol töltötte szakmai gyakorlatát? Hol kezdett dolgozni diplomaszerzés után?

A hármas diploma megszerzéséhez háromszor keményebben is kell dolgozni, hogy megfeleljünk a hármas diploma mindhárom részének a követelményeinek. Remélem, hogy ez a hármas diploma lehetővé teszi számomra, hogy bármelyik szakterületre specializálódjak, és megmutassam az eredményemet. Szakmai gyakorlatomat a Madridi Autonóm Egyetem (Spanyolország) Videófeldolgozás és -értelmezés Laboratóriumában (VPU Lab) végeztem. Miután befejeztem az IPCV képzést, kutatói állást kaptam a prágai Cseh Műszaki Egyetem (Csehország) Gépi Észlelés, Robotikai Látás és Autonóm Rendszerek kutatócsoportjában. Jelenleg egy önvezető autó projekten dolgozom a Valeo.ai-val együttműködve.

Mit adott Önnek az IPCV program?

Lehetőséget adott számomra, hogy megismerkedjek egy nemzetközi csapattal, sokféle kultúrát és különböző nyelveket tapasztaljak meg. A nemzetközi tapasztalatok szélesítik az elmémet.

Hogy tetszett és mi volt a legjobb a Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetemen?

Otthon éreztem magam a Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetemen. Jól irányított intézmény, melynek vallásos és fegyelmezett kultúrája vonzó számomra.

Milyen hosszabb távú céljai vannak?

Hozzájárulni a számítógépes látást kutatók munkájához, és szakértelmem szerint megoldani egy valós problémát.

Mi lenne az üzenete azoknak a hallgatóknak, akik gondolkodnak azon, hogy az IPCV (Képfeldolgozás és gépi látás) mesterképzésre jelentkezzenek?

Ez egy lenyűgöző program, ahol sokat lehet fejlődni személyes és szakmai téren egyaránt!

Készítette: PPKE Kommunikáció/Kemény Mária
Fotó: Awet Haileslassie Gebrehiwot

Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetem

süti beállítások módosítása