International students at Pázmány: Haydar Ahmad Salman (Syria)
"The beginning of the prosperous academic life"

haydarahmadsalman.jpg

My journey in Pázmány Péter Catholic University started on the 5th of November 2018 as a transfer student. On that day, my heart was filled with stress and anticipation for an interview with the university professors to approve my registration in English Studies MA programme at the Institute of English and American Studies. While I was waiting in an office for the interviewers, two kind faces appeared, and with their presence, the ghost of waiting and stress vanished— Dr. Zsolt Almási and Dr. Gabriella Reuss were the first university staff members I came across. The interview went for an hour, and the questions were so analytical, which reflected the university’s high standards. A week after that, I received an email informing me that I have been accepted at the university. This, for me, marked the beginning of the prosperous academic life I have always dreamt of having.

Being a Syrian student studying abroad, I had many difficulties at the beginning of my journey; nostalgia and loneliness kept visiting me. However, it took me no time to feel that Pázmány Péter Catholic University is my second home. All the barriers cracked down: an Arab in Europe, a Muslim in a Christian university, and a student from a warzone. I have never felt like the other; I was surrounded by kind classmates who made me feel the warmth of the family and showed their excitement to know about my country and culture. Furthermore, my professors’ brilliant personalities added a lot to my experience as they were very supportive and encouraging. My dear professors taught me that the key to a deep knowledge is based on posing questions and searching for answers, and then my appetite for research began to grow. At the time of COVID-19, their generosity showed itself in devoting most of their time for online communication to meet our needs. The university provided us with all the necessary applications and open access to many academic websites, which facilitated my studies at all times. I am endlessly grateful for all my professors at the Institute of English and American Studies for their time, support, and efficiency. My gratitude goes to Dr. Kinga Földváry, my supervisor, for her patience and faith in my potentials. She provided an excellent example of a scholar, a friend, and a godmother for my research. What is even better now, when someone asks me what home is, I immediately think of two homes; a full of love village-house in Latakia, and my lovely home for two years, Pázmány Péter Catholic University.

________________________________

Történetem a Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetemen cserediákként kezdődött 2018. november 5-én. Rettenetesen izgultam, mert arra a napra tűzték ki a felvételi elbeszélgetésemet az egyetem oktatóival, ami alapján eldőlt, hogy beiratkozhatok-e az Angol-Amerikai Intézet anglisztika MA szakára. Egy teremben várakoztam a bizottságra, amikor két kedves arc jelent meg, és egy csapásra minden idegességem elszállt – Dr. Almási Zsolt és Dr. Reuss Gabriella voltak az első oktatók az egyetemről, akikkel megismerkedtem. Az elbeszélgetés egy órán át tartott, és már a kérdések mélysége is tükrözte az egyetem magas színvonalát. Egy héttel később jött az e-mail, miszerint elfogadták a jelentkezésemet. Ettől a naptól kezdve végre én is belekóstolhattam a tudományos élet nagyszerűségébe, amiről mindig is álmodtam.

Nem mindig volt könnyű szíriaiként külföldön tanulni, sokszor eluralkodott rajtam a honvágy és a magány. Szerencsére azonban szinte rögtön otthon éreztem magam a Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetemen is. Leomlottak a falak: arab vagyok Európában, muszlim egy keresztény egyetemen, hallgató egy háború sújtotta országból. Sosem éreztem magam idegennek, mindig kedves csoporttársak vettek körül, akik szinte családtagként kezeltek, és élénk érdeklődést mutattak hazám és kultúrám iránt is. Sőt mi több, csodálatos oktatóim voltak, támogatásuknak és biztatásuknak köszönhetően sokat tanultam. Arra is megtanítottak, hogy kérdeznünk kell, válaszokat kell keresnünk, ahhoz hogy igazán elmélyíthessük tudásunkat, ez hozta meg igazán kedvem a kutatáshoz.

A COVID-19 okozta válság mutatta meg oktatóink igazi nagyszerűségét, hiszen idejük nagyrészét annak szentelték, hogy online csatornákon keresztül segítsenek minket. Az egyetem minden szükséges eszközt biztosított és lehetővé tette az otthoni hozzáférést számos tudományos weboldal felületéhez is, ami jócskán megkönnyítette tanulmányaimat. Végtelenül hálás vagyok az Angol-Amerikai Intézet oktatóinak a támogatásukért, a ránk szánt idejükért és a munkájukért. Hálás vagyok témavezetőmnek, Dr. Földváry Kingának a türelméért, és hogy hitt a képességeimben. A Tanárnő egyszerre kiváló tudós, barát és ő a kutatásom keresztanyja. Az egészben az a legjobb, hogy amikor valaki megkérdezi, mit jelent nekem az otthon, azonnal mindkét otthonom eszembe jut: a Latakiában álló családi fészek, illetve a két éven át otthonomként szeretett Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetem is.

Szöveg és fotó: Haydar Ahmad Salman

Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetem

süti beállítások módosítása